UK announces new ban on travelers, closes all borders as of Jan 18th.
Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced a ban on travelers to the UK from South America, Portugal and Cape Verde as of today, due to the new COVID variant identified in Brazil. British and Irish citizens and foreign nationals with residence rights will still be able to travel, but must isolate for 10 days. The UK will also be closing all travel corridors as of January 18th as a preventive measure, given the risk of unidentified new strains of the virus. In addition, anyone flying into the UK from overseas will have to show proof of a negative COVID test prior to their departure. PM Johnson said that the new rules would be in place until at least the 15th of February.